How Aussie Rugby Will Benefit From the NRC

By: Gemma Provan

Late in 2013, the Australian Rugby Union announced that they wanted to build a Tier 3 competition to help young rising rugby players get the chance to play more professional level rugby.
The competition kicked off this weekend and can be compared to New Zealand’s ITM Cup and South Africa’s Currie Cup.

It’s been a long time coming that’s for sure. Not to be mistaken for “The Rugby Championship”, the competition was dubbed “The National Rugby Championship” (NRC) and consists of nine teams from the major cities in Australia.

The concept of the NRC is fairly simple – there are nine teams, nine rounds and the top four teams at the end of the round robins go onto the semi-finals.

One thing that I can say about the competition though, is that it doesn’t seem to have been planned particularly well. The Perth Spirit don’t have a…

View original post 400 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.