On school clothes (part one of two)

On school dress codes and uniform policies that need consistency or what’s the point. Personally haven’t had to deal with that yet but it’s all going to change next year when Miss10 turns 11 and goes to Intermediate School…

Infinitefreetime.com

school_kidsYou may have noticed– and hopefully you clicked through and read the whole thing– my reblog of a piece Gretchen Kelly did for Feminist Friday about school dress codes.  All in all, it’s a really good piece, and I popped up a couple of times in the comments to address stuff that I thought was worth discussing, all the while going I will not blog about dress codes in my head.

Well, fail, I guess, because here we go.   A couple of words of warning: first, I currently expect this to be a bit on the long side, and second, I think I’m probably just going to stream-of-consciousness the whole thing rather than try and organize it in a way that makes sense, because it’s Sunday night and this is a complicated subject and I still don’t feel like thinking as hard as it probably deserves.  So if you…

View original post 2,068 more words

Leave a Reply

