Back to school…

I have enrolled for a Certificate of Art and Design through a local tertiary education provider (called UCOL, which stands for Universal College of Learning).12572979_10154562712482846_6235172916175277426_n

I was intent on looking for a job but then I found this and since I’m a big chicken and studying is (only vaguely) less scary that the whole job seeking process… (and at the moment, unless you are a nurse, teacher or manager, you’re out of luck).

I have done university before. Yanno, 20 years ago, when I finished high school… God I feel old. I never did all that well with studies, I have half a Masters degree in English from my university in France, I suck at essays, the translation class is the one that always saved my bacon.

This morning in the car I had a minor freak out.

I can’t do this. I suck at studying. I suck at essays. I’m 38, not 23 who am I kidding with this arts stuff?

Of course my wife will tell me I’m being silly and I’ll be fine. She’s probably right.

But it’s still scary.

At least I won’t be alone, a friend of mine enrolled to do the same course.

Leave a Reply

