The Price of Skin – a personal essay on the ownership of women’s bodies

Great essay. Wow is right.
You know, I’m still confused with how the world at large sees women as the ‘weaker sex’ yet women are the ones told to cover up so men aren’t tempted…
I grew up in France, I’ve been topless on a beach, I live in NZ now where girls at the swimming pool or the beach hide in their towels.

My kids know there is nothing wrong with nudity or sexuality. It’s important to me that they know that.

Thank you for this post!!

The Likkleone

I just got my grades back for my final assignment for my last unit and I’m so happy. I got 87% which is a High Distinction and my tutor started her comments with “Wow”. Maybe I’m bragging a little bit but I’m SO STOKED. It took a lot of work and there were elements I was concerned about but turns out I needn’t have worried. She made two comments total for the whole thing and they were both compliments on how it was going. I’ve posted my essay below – it’s a bit longer than anything I’d usually post but hopefully you don’t mind.

Aaargh! That’s such a relief. I definitely deserve a glass of champagne tonight. And it just so happens I’m going to a champagne degustation in 1.5 hours – how handy is that?

***

I’m standing on the front steps of our house. Naked. It’s summer and a breeze ruffles…

View original post 2,653 more words

Leave a Reply

